You are here

If You Liked Narwhal and Jelly

Peter & Ernesto: A Tale Of Two Sloths
Annable, Graham, author, artist.
Peter and Ernesto are sloths, friends, and nothing alike, so Ernesto decides to go off on an adventure alone. Will the pals' separation tear them apart or bring them closer together? Presented in comic book format.
Noodleheads See The Future
Arnold, Tedd, author, illustrator.
Inspired by folktales about fools from around the world, brothers Mac and Mac Noodlehead exasperate Uncle Ziti, are fooled by their friend Meatball, and make a garden for their mother.
Catstronauts: Mission Moon
Brockington, Drew, author, illustrator.
Alerted to a global energy crisis, the President consults with the World's Best Scientist, who suggests sending a special group of astronauts to turn the Moon into a solar power plant.
Odd Duck
Castellucci, Cecil, 1969-
Theodora is a perfectly normal duck. She may swim with a teacup balanced on her head and stay north when the rest of the ducks fly south for the winter, but there's nothing so odd about that. Chad, on the other hand, is one strange bird. Theodora quite likes him, but she can't overlook his odd habits. It's a good thing Chad has a normal friend like Theodora to set a good example for him. But who exactly is the odd duck here? Theodora may not like the answer.
Poppy & Sam And The Leaf Thief
Cathon, 1990- author, illustrator.
It's a beautiful day in the garden when Poppy and her friend Sam (a panda bear) hear a commotion nearby. Basil is crying, for someone has nibbled the leaves of his crown! But not to worry - Poppy is on the case!
Hippopotamister
Green, John (John Patrick), author, illustrator.
The zoo isn't what it used to be. It's run down, and Hippo hardly ever gets any visitors. So he decides to set off for the outside with his friend Red Panda. To make it in the human world, Hippo will have to become a Hippopotamister: he'll have to act like a human, get a job, and wear a hat as a disguise. He's a good employee, whether he's a construction worker, a hair stylist, or a sous chef. But what he really needs is a job where he can be himself.
The Amazing Crafty Cat
Harper, Charise Mericle, author, illustrator.
Sometimes school can be scary and even embarrassing, but not today. Today is Birdie's birthday, and everything will be perfect! Birdie's panda-riffic cupcakes are beautiful, and there's one for everyone. She will be the star of the class. But then . . . disaster! A trip and fall on the way to school means no more cupcakes! Who can save the day?
Where's Halmoni?
Kim, Julie J., 1973- author, illustrator.
Searching for their missing grandmother, two Korean children follow tracks into a fantastic world filled with beings from folklore who speak in Korean. Includes translations and information about the folkloric characters.
Chews Your Destiny
Montijo, Rhode.
When Mom issues a no-gum rule, Gabby Gomez sneaks a piece of special bubble gum that turns her into a superhero.
Fox + Chick. The Party And Other Stories
Ruzzier, Sergio, 1966- author, illustrator.
Fox is calm and thoughtful. Chick is hyperactive and flighty. They don't always agree, but they are friends anyway.
A Binky Adventure: Binky The Space Cat
Spires, Ashley, 1978-
Binky is a space cat - at least in his own mind. He's really a house cat who has never left the family "space station." Unlike other house cats, Binky has a mission: to blast off into outer space (outside), explore unknown places (the backyard) and battle aliens (bugs).
Gryphons Aren't So Great
Sturm, James, 1965-
The Knight's best friend is her horse, Edward. They go everywhere together and do everything together! But when the Knight gets a gryphon, suddenly all she talks about is how awesome her new pet is. Edward can't help it--he's jealous! But the gryphon turns out to be more of a peril than a pet, and it's Edward who comes to the rescue in the end. It turns out that gryphons aren't so great...but Edward sure is!
Tiger Vs. Nightmare
Tetri, Emily, author, illustrator.
"Tiger is a very lucky kid: she has a monster living under her bed. Every night, Tiger and Monster play games until it's time for lights out. Of course, Monster would never try to scare Tiger--that's not what best friends do. But Monster needs to scare someone...it's a monster, after all. So while Tiger sleeps, Monster scares all of her nightmares away. Thanks to her friend, Tiger has nothing but good dreams. But waiting in the darkness is a nightmare so big and mean that Monster can't fight it alone. Only teamwork and a lot of bravery can chase this nightmare away.
New Shoes
Varon, Sara, author, illustrator.
Francis the donkey is the best shoemaker in the village. He uses only the finest materials: coconut wood for the soles, goat's wool for the insoles, and wild tiger grass for the uppers.
My Kite Is Stuck! And Other Stories
Yoon, Salina, author.
Loud and in-charge Big Duck, quiet and clever Little Duck, and friendly and gentle Porcupine are back in another charming trio of stories.

Want more books on this topic? Request a Personalized Reading List!